The TTIC Colloquium is a forum for talks by invited speakers on work of current relevance and broad interest to the computer science community.

The colloquium is typically held Mondays at 11:00 am in TTIC Room 526.

To receive announcements about the colloquium, please subscribe to the mailing list.

For additional questions, contact Karen Livescu (klivescu@ttic.edu)

Title: “Blind” Visual Inference

Date: July 11, 2017

Speaker: Michal Irani, Weizmann Institute

Host: Gregory Shakhnarovich (gregory@ttic.edu)


Title: Learning Mixtures of Well-Separated Gaussians

Date: August 7, 2017

Speaker: Aravindan Vijayaraghavan, Northwestern

Host: Yury Makarychev (yury@ttic.edu)


Title: Distribution Alignment for Visual Domain Adaptation

Date: August 31, 2017

Speaker: Kate Saenko, Boston University

Host: Karen Livescu (klivescu@ttic.edu)


Title: Peer Grading and Mechanism Design

Date: September 11, 2017

Speaker: Jason Hartline, Northwestern

Host: Avrim Blum (avrim@ttic.edu)


Title: Biases Beyond Observation

Date: September 25, 2017

Speaker: Moritz Hardt, Berkeley

Host: Nati Srebro (nati@ttic.edu)


Title: TBD

Date: October 2, 2017

Speaker: Ilias Diakonikolas, University of Southern California

Host: Julia Chuzhoy (cjulia.ttic.edu)


Title: TBD

Date: October 9, 2017

Speaker: Samory Kpotufe, Princeton University

Host: Nati Srebro (nati@ttic.edu)


Title: TBD

Date: October 16, 2017

Speaker: Yejin Choi, University of Washington

Host: Kevin Gimpel (kgimpel@ttic.edu)


Title: TBD

Date: October 30, 2017

Speaker: Ankur Moitra, MIT

Host: Nati Srebro (nati@ttic.edu)


Title: TBD

Date: November 6, 2017

Speaker: Rob Nowak, University of Wisconsin - Madison

Host: Karen Livescu (klivescu@ttic.edu)


Title: TBD

Date: November 13, 2017

Speaker: Ben Recht, Berkeley

Host: Nati Srebro (nati@ttic.edu)


Title: TBD

Date: November 29, 2017

Speaker: Regina Barzilay, MIT

Host: David McAllester (mcallester@ttic.edu)


Title: TBD

Date: April 23, 2018

Speaker: Bruce Donald, Duke

Host: Mark Hallen (mhallen@ttic.edu)


Title: TBD

Date: May 14, 2018

Speaker: Ross Girschick, Facebook

Host: Michael Maire (mmaire@ttic.edu)